Track Asia Cup Cycling 2018: India Bags 4 golds, 5 silvers and a bronze!

Velocrush India
3 min readSep 23, 2018

Cyclist in India were pretty excited when they heard about the fifth edition of Track Asia Cup cycling was going to be held at the Indira Gandhi Sports Complex. Whatsapp messaged were being exchanged as cyclist, especially in Delhi couldn’t wait to experience track cycling live!

Organised by the Cycling Federation of India, the tournament has seen participation from 12 different countries. Needless to say, the Indian team has been all powered up for the tournament.

Junior cyclist Esow Alben, silver medallist of World Junior Cycling Championships and currently ranked World №1 (Kierin event), is leading the team.

Since Day 1 of the Track Asia Cup, India has secured 3 gold medals, 3 silver and a bronze on the opening day.
Isn’t this a proud moment for the Indian cycling community?

Bilal Ahmed Dar opened India’s tally with a silver in Point Race of 15km in junior men category, winning 19 points.

Kazakhstan’s Danll Pekhotin earned 22 points and grabbed the gold, while Venkanpa S Kengalgutti of SAINCA’s (India’s another team) bagged bronze.

Mayuri Lute won the country’s first gold medal in the women junior 500 metre. She outclassed Thailand’s Kanyarat Hnokaew by clocking 37.538s with a speed of 47.95 km/hr. Kazakhstan’s Alyona Abramchuk won bronze with 38.628s.
In the women elite 500 metre time trial category, India’s M Sonali Chanu (37.140s) secured a bronze, finishing behind two Indonesian cyclists.

The Indian men’s junior team performed exceptionally well in the team sprint event. The Indian team won gold by defeating Kazakhstan. Esow, Abhishek and Jemsh Singh of India clocked 46.804 while the Kazakhstan team clocked 47.747 in the finals.
On Day 2 the Indian cycling team called for some more excitement and medals for India.

Team India secured a gold and two silver medals on the second day of Track Asia Cup Cycling. With this, India are currently on top with four golds, five silvers and a bronze medal in the competition.

Junior cyclist E Chaoba Devi of SAI National Cycling Academy stunned India’s favourite in women elite 3 km individual pursuit finals to clinch the gold medal.

In men junior 3 km individual pursuit final, Bilal Ahmed secured silver with a timing of 3:28.903s, while Kazakhstan’s Danil Pekhotin won his second gold of this tournament clocking 3:28.273s. SAINCA won the bronze in the event.

In the women junior 2 km individual pursuit, India’s Swasti Singh won the gold medal with a timing of 2:41.123 and an average speed of 89.37 km per hour.

Picture courtesy: Cycloholics Whatsapp group!

Featured image courtesy: OfficialCFI